What's New

What's new in materials physics

MATERIALS PHYSICS SEMINARS

Tuesday 23 August 2016: Prof. Frank de Groot, Utrecht University, The Netherlands

Thursday 25 August 2016: Assoc. Prof. Dorthe Posselt, Department of Science and Environment, Roskilde University, Denmark

Past seminars:

Friday 28 March 2014 at 14:15 in Exactum CK112: Prof. Ilmo Kukkonen (Solid Earth Geophysics)
  • Topics on material physics in solid earth geophysics
  • Friday 11 April 2014 at 14:15 in Exactum CK112: Prof. Kai Nordlund (Materials physics)
  • Multiscale modelling of materials from nuclear reactor steels to nanosized cellulose
  • Friday 25 April at 14:15 in Physicum D112: Prof. Sauli Savolainen (Medical physics)
  • 'WhatsApp' in Helsinki University Central Hospital
  • Monday 12 May at 15:15 in Physicum E207: Dr. Lucia Reining, Ecole Polytechnique, Palaiseau, France
  • Electronic structure and spectra: fingerprints of electron correlation
  • Friday 30 May at 14:15 in Physicum E207: Prof. Edward Haeggström (Electronics laboratory)
  • Sensing and actuating with sound and light
  • Friday 13 June at 14:15 in Physicum E207: Prof. Ritva Serimaa (Laboratory of electronic structure)
  • X-ray scattering, microtomography and soft materials
  • Friday 15 August 14:15 Physicum E205 Daniele Menossi, University of Parma, Italy
  • Latest progress in CIGS/CdS and CdTe/CdS Thin Film Solar Cells
  • Friday 29 August 14:15 Physicum E205 Jyrki Räisänen
  • Materials research with ion beams
  • Friday 12 September 14:15 Physicum E205 Prof. Hans Van Dongen, Washington State University Spokane, USA
  • Applying mathematics and physics to predict fatigue
  • Friday 26 September 14:15 Physicum E205 Flyura Djurabekova
  • Multiphysics multiscale simulations of onset of vacuum electrical breakdowns: high electric field effects on conducting surfaces
  • Wednesday 8 October Dr. Sergei Pisarevsky, Univ. of Western Australia ja Curtin University
  • TBA
  • Thursday 9 October 14:15 Physicum E204 Prof. Miika Nieminen, University of Oulu and Oulu University Hospital
  • MRI of Osteoarthritis: State-of-the-art (and beyond) (abstract)
  • Friday 14 November 14:15 Physicum E207 Prof. Paul Erhart, Chalmers University of Technology
  • Precipitation and ordering in ferritic alloys: From method development to applications
  • Friday 23th January 14:15 Physicum E207 Tomas Kohout
  • Space weathering - a response of planetary surfaces to interplanetary environment
  • Friday 13th February 14:15 Physicum E207 Heikki Suhonen, Aki Kallonen and Alexander Meaney:
  • X-ray microtomography at the University of Helsinki: past, present and future
  • Thursday 26th February 16:15 Physicum E207 Prof. Stefan G. Mayr, IOM-Leipzig, Germany
  • Ferromagnetic shape memory alloys: From ion-beam-assisted synthesis to plasma-aided functionalization for biomedical applications
  • Friday 27th February 14:15 Physicum E207 Prof. Lauri Pesonen, Solid Earth Geophysics, University of Helsinki
  • Meteorite impacts - a geophysical perspective
  • Monday 16th March 11:15 Physicum E204 Prof. Edwin Kukk, University of Turku
  • Femtosecond-scale molecular dynamics revealed by x-ray free electron lasers
  • Wednesday 25th March 15:15 Exactum B123 Prof. Angel Rubio, Max Planck Institute for the Structure and Dynamics of Matter, Hamburg, Germany; and NanoBio Spectroscopy Group and ETSF Scientific Development Centre, Universidad del PaC-s Vasco, UPV/EHU San Sebastian, Spain; and FHI Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, Berlin, Germany
  • TDDFT framework for describing light-induced non-equilibrium dynamical processes: optoelectronic applications (abstract)

  • Even older seminars